Some Thoughts on Gary Richrath and REO Speedwagon

I was saddened today to learn that REO Speedwagon’s original guitarist Gary Richrath has passed away.  People often ask me, “Who is your favorite guitar player?”   Or, “What guitar player influenced you the most?”  For me, there is no question that it was Gary Richrath.

Was Gary Richrath the most technically skilled player ever?  Not even close.  Did he play ridiculously difficult runs and riffs at lightning fast speed?  Nope, not usually.  Did he use complex chord structures and unique voicings? Not really.  Did he wow me with effects and pedals – delays, talk boxes, reverbs, and other electronic tricks? Other than an isolated appearance of a Wah pedal on “Golden Country,” no.  So why was he so influential to me?

Gary Richrath made playing guitar in a rock band seem like an attainable goal.  Just plug your Les Paul into a 50 watt Marshall, play solid chords, play relatively simple lead lines and solos mostly using pentatonic scales.  Nothing fancy.  Just make it sing.  Make it rock.  Smile at the audience a little.  Make teenagers think, “I could do that!”  But not many could.  Gary had a stage presence that was fun to watch – nothing flashy, except for the big hair, just a regular guy having a blast, rocking on the big stage.

I remember as a kid hearing ads on the radio for “Des Moines’ favorite rockers, REO Speedwagon.”  If I remember right they were from Illinois and toured relentlessly, playing in everything from bowling alleys (didn’t they play a time or two in the Thunderbird lounge?) and night clubs, to opening for other bands, to finally headlining arenas.  I loved their early stuff and cringed when they went “commercial” with the High Infidelity album and beyond, but I bought the albums anyway.  The cover band I played in (Blitz!) played at least 5 REO songs.  They were always my favorites to play.  Their message was clear: work hard, play together as a band, and most importantly, whatever you do, do it well.  It doesn’t have to be the trickiest, craziest music ever created, although I enjoy an Eddie Van Halen, Joe Satriani, or even Lincoln Brewster solo as much as anyone.

Obviously the whole rock star dream I had didn’t play out.  It’s a good thing.  But I still love to play in an entirely different venue, and for a much higher purpose.  But I can’t resist plugging my Les Paul into my Marshall-like Orange amp and jamming away at “Roll With the Changes,” “ Ridin’ the Storm Out,” and my old favorite, “Back on the Road Again,”  and think about the great times those songs brought me, and became a part of who I am today.

Thanks, Gary, for showing kids like me how to rock.

Leave a comment